Students in SF’s Digital Media Program Win Big at the 2011 ADDY Awards

Students in SF’s Digital Media Program Win Big at the 2011 ADDY Awards

Gainesville’s most prominent graphic design and advertising firms recently met at the Best Western Gateway Grand for the 2011 ADDY Awards ceremony and gala dinner. The annual ADDY Awards are the American Advertising Federation top honors and recognize outstanding advertising design and interactive media production.

Individual awards

And keeping with what has become a tradition, Santa Fe College’s Digital Media Technology  students again garnered multiple awards for graphic design and web-interactive media production. Nineteen students won a total of 35 awards, 19 Gold and 16 Silver.

Gold ADDY winners were students Chrissy Sedgley, Kate Kowalczyk, Betina Kleuker, Hayley Boles and Shane Robertson with one Gold award each; Alvaro Villanueva (two Gold), Erin Love Taylor (two Gold), Raina Van Cleave (two Gold), Heather Griffith (three Gold) and Stactston Carter with six Gold awards!

Silver ADDY awards went to Michael Posluszny, Angela F. Yeager, Elizabeth C. Phillips, Angie Nesbit, Senta Achee, Jen Lewandosky and David K. Dobbins.

Best of Show

This year marked a first for the local ADDYs: for the first time in the local competition, and only the second year of our program entering the digital video category, an Interactive Media Production student (actually the team of Stacston Carter and Shane Robertson) won the Best of Show award. The video was ‘Trying to Live.’ Our program started competing in the digital video category last year, when we won two Golds and one Silver award.

The Graphic Design Student Association ran a very popular photo booth as a fundraiser for the club.

This year, the theme for the Awards Gala was ‘ADDY Highrollers,’ and featured a Vegas floor show. Dr. and Mrs. David Yonutas and Mr. and Mrs. David Houder joined the Digital Media Technology table and we had a great time!

In the photo, Dr. and Mrs. David Yonutas at the ADDY student photo booth.