Hurricane Season Begins Tuesday, June 1

Hurricane Season Begins Tuesday, June 1

May 27, 2021 – The 2021 Atlantic Hurricane Season begins Tuesday, June 1 and runs through Nov. 30, 2021. The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is predicting an above normal season, with 13-20 named storms, six to 10 hurricanes and three to five major hurricanes, measured as a Category 3 or higher.

Last year, there were 30 named storms, the most active season on record. Fourteen storms became hurricanes, and 7 strengthened to Category 3 or higher. Of the 30 storms, 11 made landfall in the U.S. with 4 storms (Fay, Isaias, Sally and Eta) having an impact on the state of Florida.

The state legislature passed another Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday, which runs Friday, May 28, through Sunday, June 6. Items like reusable ice packs, candles, flashlights, batteries, gas cans, bottled water, portable generators and more can be purchased during the tax holiday without paying sales tax. For a complete list, visit the Florida Department of Revenue Disaster Preparation webpage.

Santa Fe College’s Emergency Management will meet as necessary during the season and provide students, faculty and staff any needed information about potential closing dates if storms impact the college’s service district. Official college announcements about closures and storm updates will be provided on SF’s Alerts webpage.

You can also use resources from the National Hurricane Center, including a Hurricane Preparedness Guide to get ready for the Atlantic Hurricane Season. Now is also a good time for students to check eSantaFe and employees to check eStaff to make sure their emergency contact information is updated. You can also (if you haven’t already done so) download the Safe Santa Fe app, for additional safety resources.