SF Ethics Bowl Team Wins Two-Year College Championship

SF Ethics Bowl Team Wins Two-Year College Championship

November 23, 2020 – Over the weekend, Santa Fe College hosted the Ethics Bowl Two-Year College Championship. Using innovative methods to virtually host the event, SF competed against nine other schools from across the country. Teams recorded case presentations, which were submitted to a panel of judges earlier in the week, and the competition culminated with two days of presentations, questions from the judges and a fully synchronous final round.

SF President Paul Broadie II, Ph.D., opened the competition by welcoming the participants and expressing both an appreciation and a vital need for ethics in today’s world saying it is vital to shape critical minds and develop our future leaders. Over the two-day competition, SF defeated Bakersfield College, Georgia Military Institute, Salt Lake Community College and Snow College on their way to winning the first-place trophy. SF has now won the Two-Year College title three times in the last four years and wraps up their fall season having only lost one of the 14 rounds in which the team competed. SF will advance to the Ethics Bowl National tournament in February, its third trip in five years, and will compete against 35 of the nation’s top teams.

Congratulations to all the members of the SF Ethics Bowl team: Gillan Chalono, Areli Villavicencio, Paola Sullivan, Brian Sullivan, Noah Frazier, Alanis Gonzalez Maldonado, and Sydnee King.

Kudos also goes to Ethics Bowl coach Ann Thebaut, who was also recently recognized as the AFC Distinguished Professor, assistant coaches Lisa Charney, and Claire Orendorf-Bartos, as well as our colleagues Tommy Maple, Ron Claypool, Sarah Cervone, Bobby Hom, Eugenio Zaldivar, James Nichols, Asha Brunings, Mari Jayne Frederick, Audrey Holt and former Ethics Bowl team members Liam Frank and Lucy Frank.

The college also received assistance from the Center for Academic Technologies and Training’s Jason Frank, who was instrumental in the design of the hybrid virtual event, Steve Melendez of the Educational Media Studio and Fred Evans of ITS.

Congratulations, Saints, and good luck at the national tournament!