Kudos to SF’s AFC Professor of the Year Award Finalists

Kudos to SF’s AFC Professor of the Year Award Finalists

Santa Fe College's Clock Tower on the Northwest Campus.

October 20, 2023 – Congratulations go out to Santa Fe College’s AFC (Association of Florida Colleges) Professor of the Year nominees!

The four finalists this year continually rise above and beyond when improving the student experience: 

  • Dr. Kezia Awadzi: Professor and Lead Faculty, Business Program Department, Bachelor of Applied Science in Health Services Administration 
  • Corey Moran: Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Physiology 
  • Manisha Ranade: Faculty Fellow at the Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence (CTLE)
  • Alex Siwecki: Faculty Fellow and Assistant Professor, English 

“It’s an honor for our faculty members to be recognized for their exceptional contributions,” Steve Grosteffon, Chapter President of AFC at SF said. “AFC awards are significant as they celebrate and acknowledge the hard work, dedication and achievements of our faculty. The nominated faculty members for the AFC Professor of the Year have demonstrated outstanding commitment to their students, the institution and the broader academic community.”

Finalists must make a fifteen-minute instructional presentation illustrating their expertise at the AFC 74th Annual Meeting and Conference on Nov. 2. The AFC Professor of the Year and Distinguished Professors will be announced at the Gala Celebration that night.

2023 could be the third year in a row that a Santa Fe College faculty member has earned the distinction. Mario Mutis was named the 2022 AFC Professor of the Year with Michelle Freas obtaining the title the year before. Andy Shepard was named a 2021 Distinguished Professor, further bolstering SF’s reputation throughout the Florida College System.

Good luck to this year’s finalists!

For information about the Santa Fe College Chapter of the Association of Florida Colleges, visit